To Supporters of Georgia's Education Tax Credit Program:

We continue our efforts to educate lawmakers about the value of this program for families within your communities and throughout Georgia. There is a brand new development which reflects awareness of this program's value and seeks to expand it.

Representative John Carson (R-Marietta) has introduced HB 217, which would amend the Georgia Education Expense Tax Credit program as follows:

  1. Increase the annual cap on education tax credits from $58 million to $150 million in 2018
  2. Include a modest "escalator" (addition to the cap) of $7.5 million a year from 2019 through 2022, with the cap remaining at $180 million per year thereafter
  3. Roll 'expired' credits (those that do not get contributed) into the cap in a future year, rather than allowing them to be 'wasted'
  4. Set aside a maximum 20% of the overall cap to be used by C Corporations

Importantly, the bill would NOT reduce the 100% tax credit to a lesser percentage, which many of you have revealed is vitally important to the continued success of this program. 

View the official Georgia House of Representatives press release on HB 217.

The bill will first be debated within the House Ways and Means Committee. It could be impactful for legislators serving on this committee to hear your views and stories about the importance of this legislation. 

Below is the contact information for all members of the House Ways and Means Committee, should you and others choose to express your perspectives to this important group. 

Carson, John - Sponsor

404.656.0287

john.carson@house.ga.gov

Abrams, Stacey Member

404.656.5058

staceyabrams@gmail.com

Battles, Paul Member

404.657.8441

paul.battles@house.ga.gov

Beasley-Teague, Sharon

404.656.0221

sharon.beasley-teague@house.ga.gov

Bentley, Patty

404.656.0287

patty.bentley@house.ga.gov

Blackmon, Shaw

404.656.0177

shaw.blackmon@house.ga.gov

Buckner, Debbie

404.656.0116

debbie.buckner@house.ga.gov

Corbett, John

404.656.0213

john.corbett@house.ga.gov

Duncan, Geoff

404.656.0188

geoff.duncan@house.ga.gov

England, Terry

404.463.2247

englandhomeport2@windstream.net

Frye, Spencer

404.656.0265

spencer.frye@house.ga.gov

Harrell, Brett

404.463.3793

Brett.Harrell@house.ga.gov

Houston, Penny

404.463.2247

penny.houston@house.ga.gov

Kelley, Trey - Co-sponsor

404.657.1803

trey.kelley@house.ga.gov

Knight, David - Co-sponsor

404.656.5099 

david.knight@house.ga.gov

Martin, Chuck

404.656.5064

Chuck.Martin@house.ga.gov

Mosby, Howard

404.656.0287

howard.mosby@house.ga.gov

Parsons, Don

404.656.9198

Don.Parsons@house.ga.gov

Peake, Allen

404.656.5132

allen.peake@house.ga.gov

Powell, Jay Chairman

404.656.5103

jay.powell@house.ga.gov

Reeves, Bert

404.656.0298

bert.reeves@house.ga.gov

Rhodes, Trey

404.651.7737 

trey.rhodes@house.ga.gov

Rutledge, Dale Secretary

404.656.0254

dale.rutledge@house.ga.gov

Rynders, Ed

404.656.6801

erynders@bellsouth.net

Stephens, Mickey

404.656.0265

mickey.stephens@gmail.com

Stephens, Ron - Co-sponsor

404.656.5115

ron.stephens@house.ga.gov

Teasley, Sam - Co-sponsor

404.463.8143

sam.teasley@house.ga.gov

Watson, Sam

404.656.0213

sam.watson@house.ga.gov

Willard, Wendell

404.656.5125

wendell.willard@house.ga.gov

Williamson, Bruce

404.656.5024

bruce.williamson@house.ga.gov


We are very encouraged about this development. Expansion of this program would be valuable, impactful and greatly appreciated by families all over Georgia. If you agree, please let these representatives know your perspective, and encourage them to support Rep. Carson's Education Expense Tax Credit bill – HB 217.